Conners Earns PGA Tour Card

Nicholas Lindheim shot a 2-under 68 on Saturday to move into a tie for the lead after the third round of the DAP Championship with Matt Atkins, who faltered with a double bogey on the 16th hole at the Web.com Tour Finals event.

Southgate was one over through 14 holes in the DAP Championship at Canterbury Golf Club in OH when the incident occurred.

A similar scenario happened to Lexi Thompson earlier this year.

Englishman Matthew Southgate was handed a four-shot penalty when his ball struck a leaf and changed direction as he putted in the Web.com Tour Finals. It’s hard to explain the third penalty stroke easily, though it might be for playing the ball from an incorrect spot.

Matthew’s putt was deflected by a leaf in motion and the putt was missed.

Conners qualified for the PGA on Sunday when he finished in 11th place at the Web.com Tour’s DAP Championship.

But that was far from the worst of it. Southgate tapped in his short putt but that, as it turned out, was a huge error. The committee was made aware of the situation after Matthew signed his scorecard and prior to the close of competition. The result was the following: Two penalty strokes for a breach of 19-1 (Matthew did not cancel and replay the stroke, see Decision 19-1/3) plus an additional two penalty strokes for a breach of 6-6d (see the exception for Rule 6-6d). He bogeyed No. 17 and closed with a triple bogey, turning a hard day into a 9-over 79 that dropped him into a tie for 64th among the 67 players who made the cut at Canterbury Golf Club.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *