Minnesota seniors named National Merit Semifinalists for 2018

Two New Ulm-area students have been named semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program. These students will continue in the National Merit program and will be candidates to receive a scholarship from the program. “We are so proud of this exceptional group of students and wish them well as the process moves forward”.

Morgantown High School led West Virginia with 12 semifinalists, followed by George Washington High School with nine and University High School, six.

Other semifinalists include Aditya Singh of John Hardin, William Hall of Fort Knox and Skyler Hornback and Mary-Kirsten Reilly of Gatton Academy.

Fifteen semifinalists are from Greenwich High School: Aubrey K Dyckman, Gwen D Gilfond, Nicholas X Glass, Erika S Hauschild, Wesley M Heim, Jakob Karetsky, Alexander J Litt, Steven Ma, Cassandra E Marcussen, Amit Ramachandran, Christian D Rogers, Jason Shi, Shobhita S Sundaram, Michelle Woo and Michelle Xiong.

Of the 1.6 million entrants, some 50,000 with the highest scores qualify for recognition. Less than 1 percent of USA high school seniors are named as semifinalists. About 90 percent of the semifinalists will be named finalists, and about half of the finalists will win a scholarship. The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors, according to a news release.

They must also have outstanding academic records through high school, be endorsed by a school official, write an essay and perform well on the Saturday. Merit Scholar winners are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin or religious preference.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *