Six ministers dropped in Cabinet reshuffle

“Kalraj Mishra, Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Giriraj Singh, Nirmala Sitharaman, Sanjeev Baliyan and Uma Bharti will be dropped”, claimed sources.

There were speculations about some other ministers resigning couldn’t independently confirm.

BJP chief Amit Shah, who held a meeting with some senior ministers at his residence in the morning, met Modi later in the day. Party sources also said that Shah possibly discussed preparations for state polls. Sources also said the Union Agriculture Minister and Union Civil Aviation Minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju may be shifted to different portfolios. Kalraj Mishra, who is past the unofficial age ceiling of 75 years to serve in the government, is tipped to be headed for a gubernatorial assignment. Reports say reshuffle may take place on September 2.

The latest reshuffle will be the third after Modi came to power in 2014. Textiles Minister Irani got additional charge of I&B and Rural Development Minister Tomar took over Urban Development after Venkaiah Naidu became the Vice-President.

Jaitley has held the defence and finance portfolios both after Manohar Parrikar quit as the defence minister to return to Goa as chief minister.

When Jaitley was asked how long he would have dual charge of the finance and defence ministries, he had replied: “At least, I hope, not very long”.

Janata Dal (United), which recently joined the ruling National Democratic Alliance, is likely to get a berth in the new Cabinet.

Modi’s last reshuffle was in July 2016 when he brought in 19 new faces and promoted Prakash Javadekar to the Cabinet.

Prime Minister Modi had himself conveyed this over the last few days to the ministers and assigned future roles for them, sources said.

Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu was among the probables to be removed from the Cabinet, considering the resignation offered by him following the back-toback train derailment incidents in UP’s Muzaffarnagar and Auriya districts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *